- Card effects that use explicitly the phrase "destroy" (such as Dragon Crush).
- Monsters that are destroyed by an attack; if the total power of the attacking card(s) is greater than or equal to the attacked monster's defense, then it is destroyed and counts as "being destroyed by an attack".
Not sending destroyed cards to the drop zone
- Some effects can allow a card to remain on the field if it would be destroyed (such as Soulguard). In such a case, despite the card not leaving the field, it counts as "being destroyed", and effects that activate in response to the card's destruction (such as Penetrate) are still applied.
Putting cards to the drop zone
- Not all card effects allow destroy, but instead, they put the card directly from the field to the drop zone. Therefore, cards sent from the field to the drop zone by an effect are not counted as being destroyed.
- Nullifying the call/cast/equip of a card (such as Abra Cadabra!) does not destroy them. They prevent the card itself from entering the field in the first place and the card simply "goes" to the drop zone by rule action. Also, they do not count as being "put from the field to the drop zone" nor "destroyed".
|List of Actions|
|Destroy ● Link Attack|